New Mexico Foundation for Open Government, 2013

New Mexico Press Association, 2013

Association of Alternative Newsmedia, 2013

Association of Alternative Newsmedia, 2012

  • 1st, feature story* (circ. under 50,000): “Undercover,” by Sharyn Jackson
  • 3rd, public service reporting (under 50,000): ongoing reporting on Santa Fe Public Schools, by Wren Abbott Alexa Schirtzinger

New Mexico Press Women, 2012

  • 1st, enterprise reporting: “Welcome to Madrid,” by Alexa Schirtzinger
  • 1st, investigative reporting: ongoing coverage of Santa Fe Public Schools, by Wren Abbott and Alexa Schirtzinger
  • 1st, ongoing coverage (of New Mexico’s largest wildfire), by Wren Abbott, Joey Peters and Alexa Schirtzinger (sample stories here, here and here)

Association of Alternative Newsweeklies, 2011

  • 1st, innovation/format busting (circ. under 50,000): “Anatomy of a Downfall,” by Alexa Schirtzinger (print layout by Larry Kohr)
  • 3rd, multimedia (all publications): for 2010 elections coverage by Julia Goldberg and Alexa Schirtzinger

Columbia University, 2008

  • Baker Award for Magazine Journalism (for a story on immigrant remittances)

*Denotes an award for a story I edited, and/or for the paper as a whole.